title banner for Leicestershire , a UK GuideLeicestershire

UK Holiday Guide - Guide to Leicestershire in England

Holiday Guide to Accommodation and Attractions in the Leicestershire

Leicestershire is a landlocked county in central England. The county borders onto Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland, Warwickshire, Staffordshire, Lincolnshire, and Northamptonshire. Leicester is the administrative centre,

A large part of the northwest of the county, around Coalville, forms part of the new National Forest area extending into Derbyshire and Staffordshire.

The largest population centre is Leicester, followed by Loughborough. Other major towns include Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Coalville, Hinckley, Market Harborough, Melton Mowbray, Oadby and Wigston.

Some of the larger of Leicestershire's villages are: Broughton Astley (said to be the largest village in the county, which has also claimed to be the largest village in England and indeed Europe), Castle Donington, Kibworth Beauchamp (along with Kibworth Harcourt), Great Glen, Ibstock, Countesthorpe and Great Easton.

Some of the main attractions of the county include

Ashby-de-la-Zouch Canal
Ashby de la Zouch Castle
Beacon Hill
Belvoir Castle
Bosworth Field
Bradgate Park
Donington Park
Fosse Park
Foxton Locks
Kirby Castle
Launde Abbey
Leicester Cathedral
Mallory Park
Mount St. Bernard Abbey
National Space Centre
Twycross Zoo
University of Leicester Botanic Garden
Watermead Country Park
Snibston Country Park

Other useful links in Leicestershire

Go Leicestershire
Leicestershire County Council
Leicester City Council
Ashby Online
In Loughborough

Late hotel rooms in England - hotels with last minute discounts

© Copyright 2012 UK Holiday Guide : Homepage : Disclaimer


Check Availability
Book Online

Town, Postcode, Attraction

English County Guides
Top Stately Homes